The Lakeway Players was started in the fall of 2001 when a group of drama enthusiasts decided to perform a play written by local Lakeway resident Sue Wright. The play was titled THE BEST LITTLE COURTHOUSE IN TEXAS and was performed at the newly opened Lakeway Activity Center. Since then, the Players have continued to produce two shows a year. Currently, they produce a non-musical in the spring and a musical in the fall. 

                                                MISSION STATEMENT:

The mission of the Lakeway Players is to foster and promote public interest in the performing arts by participating in all aspects of theatre, including writing, acting, singing, dancing, directing, sound, lighting, costuming, and backstage work.

                                                 PURPOSE CLAUSE: 
The purpose of the Lakeway Players is to perform regularly scheduled dramatic presentations and musicals for public enjoyment through the involvement of volunteer performers and backstage workers.  

In 2012 the Lakeway Players Community Theatre Group established the Ralph and Shirley Cox memorial scholarship to be awarded annually (subject to annual board approval) to a graduating Lake Travis High School senior pursuing advanced studies in some aspect of the performing arts. Each spring the Scholarship Committee of the Group will review all local scholarship applications submitted by students, and select those that are oriented towards the performing arts. The Committee will interview the candidates and make a selection based on the perceived seriousness of the student and his/her need. The Chairperson of the Group and the Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee will then jointly present the award to the student at the school's annual scholarship awards ceremony in May. The actual monetary award will be sent directly to the institution the student will attend to be applied to that student's account.

About Us

From left to Right:

Sophia Boyer, Cathy Rose, Rachel Quigley, Annette Brown

The 2019 $1,000 Scholarship award recipients  are Sophia Boyer and Rachel Quigley. The awards were presented at the LTHS scholarship award ceremony in May, 2019 by Annette Brown Chairperson of the Players’ Scholarship Committee and Cathy Rose, board member.